Skip to main content


Northwestern is a major research university located on lakefront campuses in Chicago and suburban Evanston, Illinois. The Department of Mathematics is part of the College of Arts and Sciences, the oldest and largest of eight graduate and undergraduate schools located on the 230-acre Evanston campus.

The quiet setting of the campus, bounded on the east by Lake Michigan and on the west by the stately homes and tree-lined streets of Evanston, provides an excellent environment for academic pursuits. The resources of the nation's third-largest city are only 30 minutes away by car or public transportation, but Northwestern has a feeling of spaciousness and serenity usually found only on a geographically isolated campus.  A series of oak groves, meadows, and gardens links the old campus with the new. Ivy-clad Dearborn Observatory, with its telescope dating from the Civil War, overlooks Lake Michigan. The crenellated towers of the modern University Library, which houses more than 4 million volumes, rise above the graceful limestone spire of University Hall, built in 1869.

The College of Arts and Sciences shares the Evanston campus with the Graduate School, the J. L. Kellogg Graduate School of Management, the Robert R. McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science, the Medill School of Journalism, and the Schools of Education and Social Policy, Music, and Speech. On the Chicago campus are the Dental School, the School of Law, the Managers' Program of the Kellogg School, the Medical School, and University College (Northwestern's continuing education division). Together, these schools make Northwestern one of the country's leading educational institutions.

Back to top