Skip to main content

Nemmers Prize

Frederic Esser Nemmers Prize in Mathematics

The Nemmers Prize is awarded for achievement and work of lasting significance in the field of mathematics. In particular, the prize recognizes major contributions to new knowledge or the development of significant new modes of analysis. The prize is currently $200,000. Recipients are selected in even-numbered years, and as a condition of the award, spend several weeks in residence at Northwestern University interacting with students and faculty.  Seminars and conferences are often held in conjunction with their visits.  Click here for more information regarding the Nemmers Prizes.

János Kollár, 2016 Nemmers Prize Recipient: NU Residence Spring 2018

While in residence with Northwestern University's Mathematics Department, he presented a lecture series on Rationality Questions and Birational Rigidity:

  • "Fano claimed around 1910 that a smooth, degree 4 hypersurface in P^4 is not birational to any other Fano variety. This was finally proved by Iskovskikh-Manin and extended to higher dimensions by many others. Recently these proofs have been simplified substantially. In lecture 1 I will give a general overview of the problem and an outline of the proof. The details will then be provided in subsequent lectures."
  • Kollár also presented the Nemmers Lecture on 4/27.  Click here for details.

Previous Winners in Mathematics

Back to top