Skip to main content

Yamabe Lecture

The Yamabe Memorial Lecture was initiated jointly by Northwestern University and the University of Minnesota in 1962. At Northwestern, the Yamabe Lectures are given every two years by a prominent mathematician working in a field related to Yamabe’s work.  In the alternate years, the University of Minnesota holds the Yamabe Memorial Symposium. 

2024 Yamabe Memorial Lecture Series

Previous Lectures

2023 Sun-Yung Alice Chang (Princeton University)                                                                                                                         2017   Mihalis Dafermos (Princeton and Cambridge)
2015   Gerhard Huisken (MFO Oberwolfach and Tubingen University)
2013   Fernando C. Marques (Instituto de Matemática Pura e Aplicada, Brazil)
2012   Rafe Mazzeo (Stanford University)
2010   Simon Brendle (Stanford University)
2007   Sergiu Klainerman (Princeton University)
2007   Tai-Ping Liu (Stanford University)
2007   Luis Caffarelli (University of Texas at Austin)
2005   Terence Tao (University of California, Los Angeles)
2005   Igor Rodnianski (Princeton University)
2001   Shing-Tung Yau (Harvard University)
1999   Jeff Cheeger
1997   Richard Hamilton (University of California, San Diego)
1995   Robert Hardt
1991   L. Craig Evans
1989   Richard Schoen
1987   Neil Trudinger