Skip to main content

John M. Alongi

PhD, Northwestern University


John Alongi focuses on undergraduate mathematics education. He has served as Director of Undergraduate Studies in Mathematics and as Program Director of Mathematical Experience for Northwestern Undergraduates (MENU). Alongi has held a Charles Deering McCormick University Distinguished Lectureship and is a recipient of a Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences Alumni Teaching Award.

Alongi’s research in dynamical systems has focused on the structure of hyperbolic sets and modes of recurrence. He is a co-author of the textbook Recurrence and Topology and has been active as a consultant, and reviewer for educational publishers including Birkhäuser/Springer, Pearson, W.H. Freeman, John Wiley & Sons, and McGraw Hill.

Alongi has served on the faculties of Pomona College, Carleton College, and California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo.

Selected Publications

  1. Alongi, John M. and Stephen F. Kennedy. ``Slippery Centroids." College Mathematics Journal 3 (2001): 197--199. Rpt. in Edward J Barbeau. More Fallacies, Flaws and Flimflam (2013): 70--72.
  2. Alongi, John M. and Gail S. Nelson. Recurrence and Topology. Graduate Studies in Mathematics 85. Providence: American Mathematical Society, 2007.
  3. Alongi, John M. ``A Geometric Proof of the Addition Identity for Sine." PRIMUS 1 (2005): 81--85.
  4. Alongi, John M. ``Accessibility and Hyperbolicity." Illinois Journal of Mathematics 2 (2001): 681--691.
  5. Alongi, John M., Deanna Haunsperger, Gail S. Nelson and Eric Westlund. ``Recommendations on Recommendations." PRIMUS 4 (1999): 374--382.


  1. Charles Deering McCormick University Distinguished Lectureship, 2013--2014
  2. Arts & Sciences Alumni Teaching Award, 2011
  3. Top NU Professor, Northwestern Chronicle, 2008
  4. Lockheed Martin Most Supportive Professor Award, Society of Women Engineers, 2006
Back to top