Skip to main content

Mathematics Department

Program Details


Mathematics Announcements


Northwestern, Notre-Dame, UIC Complex Geometry Seminar Presented Talks April 13 and 20

The UIC Complex Geometry Seminar was held remotely via two talks—on April 13th and April 20th, in partnership with Northwestern University and Notre-Dame.  It was organized by Ben Weinkove (Northwestern University), Julius Ross (UIC), and Gábor Székelyhidi (Notre Dame) and was supported in part by a National Science Foundation RTG grant, National Science Foundation CAREER grant, and A National Science Foundation grant.


Eleonora Di Nezza  (École Polytechnique) presented the first talk on April 13, “Families of Kähler-Einstein metrics”. Duong H. Phong (Columbia) presented the 2nd talk on April 20th, Geometric Partial Differential Equations from Unified String Theories”.

The first meeting of this rotating seminar was held in 2019 at Northwestern University, with talks presented by Yang Li (Institute for Advanced Study)  and Ronan Conlon (Florida International University). In 2020 the UIC Complex Geometry Seminar met remotely via zoom, with talks presented by Gao Chen (Wisconsin) and Andrew Zimmer (Wisconsin).

Check Out NU Math Dept's Seminar Calendar

NU Math Faculty Awarded OER Faculty Grant

Northwestern Faculty Members, Aaron Greicius and Sean McAfee, have been awarded a $10,000 Open Educational Resources (OER) Faculty Grant for their proposal to develop open-source resources for the Math 220 sequence.   
The aim of the project is to develop an extensive open-source learning resource for calculus courses in the Mathematics Department, effectively free of cost to students. This single resource would include a large variety of components-- including a complete textbook with embedded videos from an in-house video library, embedded computational cells,  a large bank of exercises for written homework, and integration of an open-source online homework system.
This is an ambitious project that will take several years to complete. By the end of the first year, Greicius and McAfee hope to produce skeletal versions of the text corresponding to topics covered in Math 220-1 and Math 220-2. Additionally they plan on working with other faculty to reach consensus on choices of definitions and statements of theory, as well as to recruit future collaborators.

Mathematics Department News


Inclusion at NU Math


Learn More

Math Department News

"There is every reason to be hopeful the future, as the department has repeatedly shown its resilience and strength-- in teaching, in administration, in research, and as a community" (Mathematics Department Chair, Prof. Eric Zaslow)

More Mathematics Department News

Back to top