Skip to main content

Core Faculty

Jump to Last Name:

Bahar Acu

Bahar Acu

Boas Assistant Professor

Field(s) of Research: Geometric Topology
Phone number: 847-491-4977
Office location: Lunt 312
baharacu@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Contact and symplectic geometry, low dimensional topology

John M. Alongi

John M. Alongi

Professor of Instruction

Field(s) of Research: Dynamical systems and ergodic theory, Mathematics education
Phone number: 847-467-1874
Office location: Lunt B3
jalongi@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Notions of recurrence, Hyperbolic orbits and sets

Antonio Auffinger

Antonio Auffinger

Associate Professor

Field(s) of Research: Probability theory and stochastic processes
Phone number: 847 491 5524
Office location: Lunt 228
tuca@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Spin glasses, growth processes, and random matrix theory

Nir Avni

Nir Avni

Associate Professor

Field(s) of Research: Model theory, Group theory and generalizations, Topological groups, Lie groups, Measure and integration, Dynamical systems and ergodic theory, Differential geometry
Phone number: 847-491-5575
Office location: Lunt 213
nir.avni@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Arithmetic groups, Representation Theory

Aaron Brown

Aaron Brown

Associate Professor

Phone number: 847-491-6446
Office location: Lunt B4
awb@northwestern.edu

Keith Burns

Keith Burns

Professor

Field(s) of Research: Dynamical systems and ergodic theory
Phone number: 847-491-3013
Office location: Lunt B21
burns@math.northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Dynamical systems and ergodic theory

Elizabeth Burslem

Elizabeth Burslem

Visiting Faculty

Phone number: 847-467-4776
Office location: Locy 205A
e-burslem@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Dynamical Systems

Santiago Canez

Santiago Canez

Associate Professor of Instruction

Field(s) of Research: Symplectic geometry, contact geometry, Topological groupoids
Phone number: 847-467-5211
Office location: Lunt B27
scanez@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Symplectic Geometry and Mathematical Physics

Eric Chang

Eric Chang

Postdoctoral Lecturer

Field(s) of Research: Complex Dynamics
Phone number: 847-467-4072
Office location: Locy 204
change@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Structures in the parameter space of singularly perturbed rational maps.

Jianchun Chu

Jianchun Chu

Boas Assistant Professor

Field(s) of Research: Geometric Analysis
Phone number: 847-467-1891
Office location: Lunt 303
jianchun@math.northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Differential Geometry and Partial Differential Equations

Daniel Cuzzocreo

Daniel Cuzzocreo

Visiting Faculty

Field(s) of Research: Complex Dynamics
Phone number: 847-467-4918
Office location: Locy 202
dcuzz@math.northwestern.edu
Description of Research: I am interested in holomorphic dynamical systems. In particular, I am interested in structures in parameter spaces for families of rational maps.

Paul Goerss

Paul Goerss

Professor

Field(s) of Research: Stable homotopy theory, spectra
Phone number: 847-491-8544
Office location: Lunt 206
p-goerss@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Homotopy theory, particularly chromatic stable homotopy theory.

Julian Gold

Julian Gold

RTG Postdoctoral Fellow

Field(s) of Research: Probability theory
Phone number: 847-491-5557
Office location: Lunt 301
julian.gold@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Percolation, random spatial processes

Aaron Greicius

Aaron Greicius

Associate Professor of Instruction

Field(s) of Research: Arithmetic, number theory
Phone number: 847-491-5519
Office location: Lunt B25
greicius@math.northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Galois representations arising from arithmetic varieties and modular forms.

Doğancan Karabaş

Doğancan Karabaş

Boas Assistant Professor

Phone number: 847-491-5548
Office location: Lunt B18

Bryna Kra

Bryna Kra

Professor

Field(s) of Research: Ergodic Theory, Topological Dynamics and Symbolic Dynamics
Phone number: 847-491-5567
Office location: Lunt 224
kra@math.northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Bryna Kra works in ergodic theory and dynamical systems, particularly on problems motivated by combinatorics and number theory.

Zhehua Li

Zhehua Li

Postdoctoral Lecturer

Phone number: 847-467-4940
Office location: Locy 208

Katrina Morgan

Katrina Morgan

RTG Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone number: 847-491-5548
Office location: Lunt B18

Emmy Murphy

Emmy Murphy

Associate Professor

Field(s) of Research: Geometric topology
Phone number: 847-491-5553
Office location: Lunt 306
e_murphy@math.northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Symplectic and contact geometry, h-principles, low dimensional topology.

Aaron Naber

Aaron Naber

Professor

Field(s) of Research: Geometric Analysis
Phone number: 847-467-1838
Office location: Lunt 220
aaron.naber@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Ricci curvature, harmonic maps between Riemannian manifolds, minimal surfaces, Ricci flow, critical/nodal sets of elliptic equations, mean curvature flow, and collapsing theory.

Aaron Peterson

Aaron Peterson

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Field(s) of Research: Several Complex Variables, Harmonic Analysis, Linear PDE, Singular Integral Operators, Sub-Riemannian Geometry.
Phone number: 847-467-1298
Office location: Lunt B2
aaron.peterson@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Several Complex Variables, Harmonic Analysis, Linear PDE, Singular Integral Operators, Sub-Riemannian Geometry.

Mihnea Popa

Mihnea Popa

Professor

Field(s) of Research: Algebraic geometry
Phone number: 847-491-5576
Office location: Lunt 226
mihnea.popa@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Algebraic Geometry - Birational Geometry and Hodge Theory

Ursula Porod

Ursula Porod

Associate Professor of Instruction

Phone number: 847-467-2322
Office location: Lunt B6
u-porod@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Probability Theory, Stochastic Processes - Random Walks on Lie Groups

Florian Richter

Florian Richter

Boas Assistant Professor

Field(s) of Research: Dynamical systems
Phone number: 847-491-3738
Office location: Lunt B4
fkr@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Dynamical systems, ergodic theory, additive combinatorics, multiplicative number theory.

Boris Tsygan

Boris Tsygan

Professor

Field(s) of Research: Noncommutative Algebraic Geometry
Phone number: 847-467-6446
Office location: Lunt 302
b-tsygan@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Non-commutative geometry, index theory, microlocal analysis, deformation quantization, mathematical physics, and sympletic geometry.

Yuan Wang

Yuan Wang

Boas Assistant Professor

Field(s) of Research: Algebraic Geometry
Phone number: 847-467-0715
Office location: 106B
yuanwang@math.northwestern.edu

Ben Weinkove

Ben Weinkove

Professor

Field(s) of Research: Geometric analysis
Phone number: 847-491-5587
Office location: Lunt 310
weinkove@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Hermitian and Kählerian manifolds, Geometric evolution equations, Nonlinear elliptic equations

Jared Wunsch

Jared Wunsch

Professor

Field(s) of Research: Partial differential equations
Phone number: 847-491-5580
Office location: Lunt 221
jwunsch@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Spectral and scattering theory; microlocal analysis.

Zhihong Jeff Xia

Zhihong Jeff Xia

Professor

Phone number: 847-491-5487
Office location: Lunt 208
zxia@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Dynamical Systems - Xia's research is in the areas of Newtonian n-body problem, Hamiltonian dynamics and general hyperbolic and partially hyperbolic dynamical systems.

Eric Zaslow

Eric Zaslow

Professor

Field(s) of Research: Mirror symmetry, symplectic aspects; homological mirror symmetry; Fukaya category, Mirror symmetry
Phone number: 847-467-6447
Office location: Lunt 209
e-zaslow@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Mirror Symmetry, Mathematical Physics

Steve Zelditch

Steve Zelditch

Professor

Field(s) of Research: Partial differential equations on manifolds, Analysis on CR manifolds, Asymptotic distribution of eigenvalues and eigenfunctions, Scattering theory, Random fields
Phone number: 847-491-5574
Office location: Lunt 223
s-zelditch@northwestern.edu
Description of Research: Complex Geometry, Mathematical Physics

Back to top