Skip to main content

News - 2011

Steve Zelditch has been named the Wayne and Elizabeth Jones Professor in Mathematics.

Bryna Kra has been named the Arthur E. Andersen Research and Teaching Professor for 2011-2014.

Sandy Zabell was selected as the recipient of the 2010-11 ISP faculty service award.

Xiaokai Liu is the winner of the award for Best Performance on the Preliminary Examinations for 2011.

Graduate student Sam Gunningham was honored with Mathematics Department Graduate Teaching Assistant Award for 2010-11.

Distinguished Senior Lecturer Martina Bode and Professor Mike Stein were elected to the 2010-2011 Faculty and Administrator Honor Roll.

Vesna Stojanoska received the Best Thesis Award of 2010-11 for her thesis titled "Duality for topological modular forms".

Hiro Tanaka received the Gelfand Award of 2010-11 for impressive progress in his research and his contributions to departmental life.

Boas Assistant Professor Ellen Eischen and Visiting Assistant Professor Kalman Nanes were honored for Excellence in Teaching in 2010-11.

Staff member Cheryl Albiniak was awarded a Service Excellence Commendation by Northwestern University.

David Nadler has been promoted to Full Professor.

The math department has awarded its 2010-2011 Undergraduate Prizes.

John Alongi has been awarded an Arts and Sciences Alumni Teaching Award in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences for 2010-11.

Jared Wunsch has been awarded a Distinguished Teaching Award in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences for 2010-11.

Hiro Tanaka has won the Presidential Fellowship for 2011-13, awarded by Northwestern's Graduate School.

A video of Terence Tao's lecture on Structure and Randomness in the Prime Numbers (March 2, 2011) is available here.

Sophomore math major Sascha Herrman has won a Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship.

Northwestern's Putnam team ranked 23th out of 546 participating institutions in this year's competition. Seven students were among the top 500 participants, and one, Greg McGlynn, was in category II, ranked between 103.5 and 188.

Amie Wilkinson won the 2011 Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize from the American Mathematical Society, with a citation for "her remarkable contributions to the field of ergodic theory of partially hyperbolic dynamical systems."

Toby Gee has been awarded a 2011 Sloan Research Fellowship

Dean Baskin has been awarded an NSF postdoctoral research fellowship.

Terence Tao delivered a free public lecture, Structure and Randomness in the Prime Numbers, on Wednesday March 2, at 5pm in Harris Hall. See video of the lecture here.

David Nadler is giving a talk titled " The Geometric Nature of the Fundamental Lemma" in the Current Events Bulletin Session and the Joint Mathematics Meetings in New Orleans.

Steve Zelditch is the principal lecturer at an NSF-CBMS conference on "Global Harmonic Analysis," to be held June 20-24, 2011 at the University of Kentucky.