Skip to main content

News - 2017

Northwestern mathematician wins award at 'Oscars of Science'

Northwestern University mathematician Aaron Naber was among several awardees of the 2018 Breakthrough Prize, the so-called "Oscars of Science," which celebrates top achievements in physics, life sciences and mathematics and is sponsored by Silicon Valley elites including Facebook's Mark Zuckerberg and Google's Sergey Brin.

Class of 2017 Undergraduates Awarded Departmental Honors

Congratulations to Araminta Gwynne, Harris Khan, Malcolm Lazarow, and Sam Mossing for being awarded departmental honors by the Weinberg College Committee on Undergraduate Academic Excellence

Faculty Member Santiago Cañez Wins Weinberg Teaching Award

Congratulations to Santiago Cañez, who was named a recipient of an Arts and Sciences Alumni Teaching Award in Weinberg College for 2016-17.

Department Faculty Awarded NSF Career Award

Congratulations to Tuca Auffinger on being awarded a National Science Foundation Career Award, the foundation's most prestigious award in support of early career-development.

Department Faculty Awarded 2017 Simons Foundation Fellows in Mathematics

Congratulations to Ezra Getzler for being awarded the 2017 Simons Foundation Fellows in Mathematics for studies in Supersymmetric Field Theories and Derived Geometry.

Department Faculty Selected as 2017 Sloan Research Fellows

Congratulations to Gang Liu and Yifeng Liu on winning the Alfred P Sloan Foundation's 2017 Research Fellowships.

AMS Board of Trustees Issue Statement on Executive Order on Immigration

The members of the Board of Trustees of the American Mathematical Society expressed their opposition to the Executive Order signed by President Trump that temporarily suspends immigration benefits to citizens of seven nations.

Encouraging Young Mathematicians

Silas Johnson to host a contest for elementary and middle school aged mathematicians on March 19th.

Prof. Tosatti Appointed Poincare Chair

Congratulations to Valentino Tosatti who was appointed to the 2017 Chair at the Institut Henri Poincare.

Mark Pinsky, Professor Emeritus of the Math Department, passed away December 8, 2016

Mark Pinsky, Professor Emeritus of the Math Department, passed away December 8, 2016. Mark joined Northwestern in 1968 and became a Professor in 1976. Mark helped found the Midwest Probability Colloquium, which has met every fall since, almost always at Northwestern. Mark was the main organizer and guiding spirit behind the MPC until 2011, his last year before retirement. In 2008 Mark and his wife Joanna endowed the Mark and Joanna Pinsky Distinguished Lecture Series, a yearly event which brings a distinguished mathematician to this department to give talks in important areas of current research. Donations in Mark’s memory can be made to Northwestern University Math Dept.- Mark and Joanna Pinsky Distinguished Lecture Series (please make checks payable to "Northwestern University" and attach a note specifying "Gift to the Mark and Joanna Pinsky Lecture Series" Donations can be mailed to 2033 Sheridan Road, Evanston IL 60208.), or to the Michael J.Fox Foundation (for Parkinson’s research)

Faculty Awarded the 2017 AMS Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize in Mathematics

Congratulations to Laura DeMarco for being honored for her fundamental contributions to complex dynamics, potential theory, and the emerging field of arithmetic dynamics.

Featured Interview with Undergraduate Eugene Wu

Undergraduate Mathematics double-major Eugene Wu was published in a feature interview on his internship at Argonne National Laboratory

Congratulations to the Newest Fellows of the American Mathematical Society

The Math Department congradulates Alexandra Bellow and Ben Weinkove on their election as 2017 Fellows of the American Mathematical Society

Staff Member Recognized with Mentor of the Year Award

Deavon Mitchell was honored with the Mentor of the Year Award from the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences

Department Announces Emphasis Year in Algebraic Geometry, Number Theory and Physics

Department to host a series of events and distinguished visitors for the 43 annual Emphasis Year.