Skip to main content

News - 2013

Math Putnam team students, Ed Kim, Zeyu Wang and Siyuan Cai, won first place in the 2013 ACM ICPC Mid-Central USA Programming Contest. The Wildcats will be one of about 80 teams worldwide to compete in the 2014 ACM-ICPC World Finals at Ural Federal University Ekaterinburg, Russia, 22-26 June.

Bryna Kra has been elected to serve on the 2014 Executive Committee for the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM).

This year's Mark and Joanna Pinsky Lecture will be delivered by Akshay Venkatesh, addressing the topic of Topology of arithmetic manifolds, from 15-17 January 2014.

Watch Kevin Costello's series of three YouTube lectures from a FRG conference on Supersymmetric gauge theory & derived geometry.

Staff member Niki Koumoutsos was awarded a Service Excellence Commendation by Northwestern University.

Frank Calegari and Paul Goerss have been named to AMS 2014 class of fellows.

John Alongi and Ursula Porod have been named to Associated Student Government 2012-13 Honor Roll for their excellence in teaching.

Bryna Kra has been named to the Sarah Rebecca Roland Professorship. Celebrate the great tradition of endowed professorships with the Medal Ceremony on Friday, November 8, 2013 at 3 PM, Harris Hall Auditorium followed by a 4 PM Reception, Harris Hall Leopold Room.

How random can random be? Bryna Kra explored this question at The Fall Arnold Ross Lectures, hosted by the Museum of Science & Industry, November 07, 2013.

The Yamabe lectures this fall were given by Fernando Codá Marques, and the Bellow lectureswill be given by Artur Avila.

This past spring, Kevin Costello gave an AMS invited address at Iowa State University.

The department is now accepting application for tenure-line, postdoctoral and lectureship positions.

The Math department welcomed new and returning faculty and students for the 2013-14 academic year. We are honored to be joined this year by new Assistant Professor Kate Juschenko (operator algebras and group theory) as well as by Associate Professor Aaron Naber (Riemannian geometry).

A special session of the 24th Fall meeting of the Semi-annual Workshop on Dynamical Systems and Related Topics at Penn State University will be dedicated to the 70th birthday of John Franks. It will take place on Friday, October 18, and feature talks on topics related to his work.

Mark Mahowald, Professor Emeritus of the Department of Mathematics, Northwestern University, died on Saturday July 20, 2013. Most noted for his detailed and incomparable knowledge of the homotopy groups of spheres, Professor Mahowald joined the faculty at Northwestern in 1963, had 27 PhD students, at least 50 coauthors, and was mentor to a long list of younger research mathematicians, many of whom now hold important faculty positions around the world.

Bryna Kra has published a commentary entitled Mathematics: 1,000 Years Old, and Still Hot in the Chronicle of Higher Education.

Ursula Porod has been awarded an Arts and Sciences Alumni Teaching Award

Boris Hanin has been awarded an Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award

John Alongi has been awarded a Charles Deering McCormick Distinguished Lectureship beginning September 1, 2013.

The math department has awarded its 2012-2013 Undergraduate Prizes.

Northwestern University will award an honorary degree to math department alumnus Michael Hopkins. Hopkins, a distinguished topologist who holds both undergraduate and graduate degrees in math from NU, will be honored at the NU commencement ceremony on Friday, June 21.

Xinwen Zhu has been awarded the Centennial Fellowship of the American Mathematical Society.

Nemmers Prize Winner, Ingrid Daubechies, will teach a minicourse titled Wavelets and Sparse expansions Tuesdays and Thursdays April 11-April 25, and Thursday May 2. Kresge Hall Rm. 2380.

Congratulations to Northwestern University's Putnam team, which ranked tenth in the 2012 Putnam Mathematical Competition. Northwestern received a Team Honorable Mention.
Team member Ewain Gwynne received an Individual Honorable Mention.

On Wednesday April 24, at 4pm, Nemmers Prize Winner Ingrid Daubechies delivered a public lecture "The Master’s hand:" can image analysis detect the hand of the master?.

Undergraduate student Ewain Gwynne has won an NSF Graduate Fellowship. He will be attending MIT in Fall 2013.

A reception honoring the new installation of the George P.A. Healy portrait of Orrington Lunt was held on Friday, March 15, 2013, from 3:30-4:30 in Lunt Hall.

An investiture ceremony honoring Kevin Costello, Wayne & Elizabeth Jones Professor in Mathematics, was held March 1, 2013 at 4pm in the Allen Center Auditorium.

The subject of the department's 2013-14 Emphasis Year will be Representation Theory, Integrable Systems and Quantum Fields. Organizers are Kevin Costello, Eric Zaslow, Xinwen Zhu.

Professor emerita Alexandra Bellow has endowed a new lecture series, to begin in 2012-13. The first Bellow Lectures will be delivered by Alice Guionnet on June 5-7, 2013.

The department welcomes Ben Weinkove to the faculty in 2013.

Congratulations to new Fellows of the AMS, professors John Franks, Ezra Getzler, Bryna Kra, Clark Robinson, Mike Stein, Jared Wunsch, Steve Zelditch and professors emeriti Eric Friedlander, Mark Mahowald, Stewart Priddy, Donald Saari.