Skip to main content

News - 2016

Mathematics Major Recognized for Musical Achievements

Luke Peterson was featured in the Weinberg Magazine for his blues composition inspired by coursework on Uncle Tom's Cabin.

Faculty wins the Kamil Duszenko Award in Mathematics

Kate Juschenko was awarded the Kamil Duszenko Award in Mathematics granted by the Wrocław Mathematicians Foundation for research in mathematics.

The Math Department Has Awarded The 2015-16 Undergraduate Prizes

Students received department award prizes for outstanding achievement in mathematics. Congratulations to all of our winners!

Paul Goerss Wins Mentoring Award

Department Chair Paul Goerss has won an Award for Excellence in Mentoring Undergraduate Research in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences

Graduate Student Nicole Looper Received Award

Nicole Looper received the Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences

Faculty Members Awarded TIMES Fellowship

Silas Johnson and Jason Siefken were awarded the TIMES Teaching Fellowship to support inquiry-oriented teaching in mathematics.

Newly Elected Fellows to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Bryna Kra has been elected as a new member to the American Academy of Arts & Science in the field of Mathematics.

Nemmers Prize Awarded to János Kollár

János Kollár of Princeton University was awarded the Nemmers Prize for outstanding achievements in mathematics.

Staff Hosts (INTER)^2SECT Mathematics Contest

Silas Johnson, in conjunction with, hosted the (INTER)^2 SECT contest for young mathematicians on March 13. Thirty-two middle-school aged students from five schools were in attendance.

Applications Open for GROW 2016

Applications are now being accepted for the 2016 Graduate Research Opportunities for Women conference.

Staff Wins Commendation

Deavon Mitchell was awarded a Service Excellence Commendation by Northwestern University.

Simons Fellowship in Mathematics

Bryna Kra has been awarded a Simons Fellowship in Mathematics for the academic year 2016-17.

Kenneth F. Burgess Professor of Mathematics

Aaron Naber has been named the Kenneth F. Burgess Professor of Mathematics.

2016 Joint Mathematics Meetings

Steve Zelditch will deliver the 2016 AMS Invited Address at the Joint Meetings of the mathematical societies.