Skip to main content

News - 2015

2014-15 ASG Faculty Honor Roll

Martina Bode, Nabil Kahouadji, Eugene Kushnirsky, and Ursula Porod were named to the 2014-15 ASG Faculty Honor Roll for their excellence in teaching.

Eric Zaslow named Board of Lady Managers of the Columbian Exposition Chair for 3 year term.

This endowed chair was created in 1916 out of funds raised at the Women’s Building of the Columbian Exposition of 1893. It recognizes the work of some of the University’s most esteemed faculty, from across the College.

Silas Johnson has been accepted by the MAA as a Project NExT fellow

Project NExT (New Experiences in Teaching) is a professional development program for new or recent Ph.D.s in the mathematical sciences.

Alumnae of Northwestern University Award for Curriculum Development

Eric Zaslow has won this award for his course proposal, quantitative reasoning, which will be developed as part of the Bridge Program.

The math department has been awarded an NSF RTG grant in geometric analysis. The $2.18M grant will fund research and training of students and postdocs in this field over the next five years.

The math department has awarded its 2014-15 undergraduate prizes.

Donald Geman, Ph.D. '70, was elected to the National Academy of Sciences. Geman, whose NU thesis was entitled "Horizontal-window conditioning and the zeros of stationary processes," was recognized for his work in machine learning.

Deanna Haunsperger, Ph.D. ’91, has been elected President of the Mathematical Association of America.

Kate Juschenko received a Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award from the National Science Foundation.

Laura DeMarco and Mihnea Popa were named 2015 Simons Fellows in Mathematics.

Mihnea Popa gave an invited address at the 2015 Central Spring Sectional Meeting of the American Mathematical Society.

Mihnea Popa was named to AMS 2015 class of fellows.

Sandy Zabell was appointed to a DNA Analysis Committee of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), tasked with promulgating forensic science standards and guidelines.

Kari Vilonen was awarded a Simons Fellowship for 2014.