Skip to main content

News 2019


New Endowed Chair Established in Mathematics

December 10, 2019

The Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences has announced the establishment of a new endowed chair in mathematics:  the Madan Lal Puri Professorship.

The chair is named for Madan Lal Puri, the Indiana University College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Research Scholar and Professor Emeritus of Mathematics at Indiana University.  For more information, please see


Prof. Murphy Receives 2020 New Horizons Prize in Mathematics

September 10, 2019

Winners of the 2020 Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences, Fundamental Physics and Mathematics have been announced.  Prof. Emmy Murphy received this prize "for contributions to symplectic and contact geometry, in particular the introduction of notions of loose Legendrian submanifolds and, with Matthew Strom Borman and Yakov Eliashberg, overtwisted contact structures in higher dimensions."

Prof. Valentino Tosatti Receives Renato Caccioppoli Prize

September 10, 2019
The Renato Caccioppoli Prize is awarded every four years by the UMI to an Italian mathematician of established international reputation and who has not exceeded 38 years of age in the year preceding the award. The winner is nominated by a committee of five mathematicians appointed by the Main Office of the UMI.

Prof. Antonio Auffinger Receives 2019 Weinberg College Distinguished Teaching Award

September 10, 2019
Each year Weinberg College selects three members of the tenure-line faculty to receive Weinberg College Distinguished Teaching Awards. Excellence as an undergraduate instructor is the primary criterion of the award as well as contributions to curricular innovation and undergraduate life.



Ortiz and Peterson Receive Departmental Honors

June 8, 2019
The Weinberg College Committee on Undergraduate Academic Excellence has awarded departmental honors to mathematics majors Alexander Ortiz and Luke Peterson. To qualify for departmental honors, students must 
  • complete both the 320 (or 321) sequence and the 330 (or 331) sequence or the equivalent,
  • complete two quarters of independent study or two quarters of a 400-level course with distinction,
  • complete a project which culminates in an honors thesis, and 
  • have a grade point average greater than or equal to 3.5 in courses which satisfy major requirements.

Ortiz and Perreault Receive Corbin Prizes

June 7, 2019
Mathematics majors Alexander Ortiz and Aidan Perreault have each received a Franklin N. and Lee L. Corbin Prize from the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences. Weinberg awards these prizes to seniors with outstanding academic records who plan to attend graduate or professional school. Each prizes carries an award of $5000 to help offset the cost of graduate study. This fall Alex will study mathematics at MIT, and Aidan will study computer science at Stanford.


Students elected to Phi Beta Kappa

May 21, 2019
The Department of Mathematics is proud to congratulate seven senior mathematics majors elected to Phi Beta Kappa in 2019:

Conrad Gordon
Xiaoyu (Steven) Liu
Aidan Perreault
Hassan Sayed
Eva van Agt
Daniel Wilensky
Leighton Zhao

Four senior mathematics majors were elected to Phi Beta Kappa as juniors in 2018:

Megan Angell
Yunhao (Leslie) Liu
Alexander Ortiz
Thomas Ritz